Ashtanga Yoga Through the Eyes of Krishnamacharya

What Anthony and Satya have done is unprecedented, and gratitude to them for the effort. They have translated the never seen before tables of the YogaAsanaGalu (by Krishnamacharya), together with their vinyasa counts, benefits, inhalations, exhalations AND retentions.  These tables are to be taken in and studied, a treasure really!

See today’s post with all the tables for all series, or go here for the translation project.

Not only that but on the ongoing translation project Grimmly has put together photos of the series and attempted one with pictures you can find online from Krishnamacharya himself.  A great read.

I invite you to follow it all at Grimmly’s, but I wanted to copy the table for the primary series here so you get a taste.  It is good indeed.  Notice the retention for Utana Padasana and Setu Bandhasana…  new, ha?

Took these as samples from Grimmly’s page, head over to see all the series
to Grimmly2007.blogspot.com

6 thoughts on “Ashtanga Yoga Through the Eyes of Krishnamacharya

  1. thank goodness for your blog because it helps me go to my mat everyday. even though i am just a beginner i feel the path is before me when i see people like you sharing your story of yoga. i just read your post below on wheat which led me back to a post in 2010 about mindful eating and how yoga makes you aware of your inside workings. that is just SO TRUE and i would not have believed it for a minute had i not started yoga. there is a mind body disconnect in so many westerners–imagine if everyone practiced yoga–even just the standing postures, for 20 minutes 3 times a week. thanks again Claudia.

    Like

  2. Hi Wolfes, thanks I appreciate your enthusiasm, I feel it too, I feel the present moment lurking behind each phase of the practice and how it leads me to it, points to it, and love it… Now this particular post, this one is indeed huge, not everyday we get some more glimpses from Krishnamacharya, I am so excited about it. guess that makes two of us! 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment